Skip to content

Health security at Finland’s borders: List of low-risk countries as of 9 August

Ministry of Social Affairs and Health
Publication date 5.8.2021 14.36
Press release 215/2021

The Government has approved an amendment to the decree allowing entry into Finland without the health security measures laid down in the Communicable Diseases Act. The amendment to the decree will enter into force on 9 August 2021.

Persons arriving in Finland from a country or region where the incidence of COVID-19 or the prevalence of virus variants does not pose a particular risk of spreading the epidemic  will not be required to show proof of full vaccination against COVID-19 or of recovery from COVID-19 within the past six months or to take a COVID-19 test upon entry. 

The decree has now been amended in the light of the changed epidemic situation. The epidemiological situation has deteriorated in the following countries and they will be removed from the decree: Iceland, Israel, San Marino, Singapore and Slovakia. The development of the epidemic has improved in Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Romania and Hungary and these countries will added to the decree. 

Under the government decree, persons arriving in Finland from the following countries will not be required to be tested or show a certificate: Albania, Australia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Hong Kong, Hungary, China, Macao, Poland, Romania, Taiwan, New Zealand and the Vatican, and the Norwegian municipalities of Storfjord, Kåfjord, Nordreisa, Kautokeino, Karasjok, Tana, Nesseby and Sør-Varanger. In these countries, the incidence of new COVID-19 cases is less than 10 per 100,000 inhabitants in the previous 14 days. 

The decree will be amended if the epidemiological situation so requires.


Ismo Tuominen, Senior Ministerial Adviser
Mirka-Tuulia Kuoksa, Legal Adviser
[email protected]

Back to top