Finland's EU Presidency

The presidency of the Council of the EU rotates in an established order among the EU Member States every six months. Three Member States holding the presidency one after another work together closely in groups of three, called trios. This enables a more consistent, long-term work process. The duties of the Member State holding the presidency include preparing and chairing the meetings of the Council and its preparatory bodies, and representing the Council in relation to the other EU institutions.

Finland’s third EU Presidency period begins on 1 July 2019. During the presidency, the Ministry of Social Affairs and Health will be responsible for the Employment, Social Policy, Health and Consumer Affairs Council (EPSCO) and its preparatory working groups, together with the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment. In addition, the Ministry of Social Affairs and Health will host meetings of working groups and experts in Helsinki, focusing on the key themes of the Ministry.

Further information