Department for Occupational Safety and Health

The Department guides the Regional State Administrative Agencies' divisions of occupational safety and health, prepares and develops OSH legislation and policy and is in charge of international cooperation in the field of OSH.

The units under the Department and their areas of responsibility

The Department is led by Director-General Leo Suomaa.

Field Operations Unit (VY)

  • regional supervision of occupational safety and health
  • product safety control

Director Raimo Antila

Policy Unit (TY)

  • wellbeing at work
  • national and EU level tasks of the European Agency for Safety and Health at Work

Director Liisa Hakala

Legislation Unit (SY)

  • drafting of laws, decrees and other legislation regarding occupational safety and health
  • matters related to the general applicability of collective agreements

Director Antti Janas